Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of April 26

April 26, 2010 at 6:50 am 2 comments

Menu Plan Monday LogoI am very happy to report that this week is a completely normal week for me. There are no out of town trips, races, or other big events. I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to a few regular nights with the family. While I enjoy the occasional variation on a theme, too much of it becomes a burden instead of a respite from the usual. Because last week’s dinners were almost entirely from my freezer stash, this week I’m going to try some new recipes. This week’s menu plan looks like this:

  • Monday: Oven-Fried Buttermilk Halibut with mashed potatoes and sautéed green beans
    We haven’t been eating as much fish as I’d like so I’m making it a priority for the next few weeks to take advantage of summer fish sales. The family will enjoy this fish because it’s crunchy and reminiscent of fried chicken.
  • Tuesday: Chicken Sausage and Vegetable Roast
    Chicken sausage is always fun because it cooks quickly and is healthy. I’ll make some extra on Tuesday to use in sandwiches on Saturday.
  • Wednesday: Make your own Pizza night
    The whole family loves make your own pizza night and it’s been a while since I’ve been home for it. This will be a fun way to break up the week. We’ll probably pull out a board game or two to add to the fun.
  • Thursday: Foil-Barbequed Trout with Wine with brown rice and roasted asparagus
    I really enjoy cooking fish in foil because it’s easy and the clean-up is a snap. I’ll make extra brown rice to use in the fried rice on Sunday.
  • Friday: Red Glazed Pork Loin Chops with soba noodles and steamed broccoli
    We’ll enjoy these chops out on the porch on Friday night to celebrate a laid-back week. I’ll make extra pork for the fried rice on Sunday.
  • Saturday: Chicken sausage hero sandwiches with baked chips and raw veggies
    This dinner will come together quickly for a no-stress meal. I’ll reheat the chicken sausage in some jarred marinara sauce and serve it with some mozzarella cheese in fresh hoagie bread.
  • Sunday: Pork Fried Rice
    It’s been a while since we’ve had my fried rice stand-by. This week I’ll mix it up a little with pork as the meat and brown rice instead of white. I’m also going to use edamame instead of the usual peas and carrots.
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday. Tags: .

Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of April 19 Grilled Steaks with Bacon-Wrapped Corn

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jackie  |  April 26, 2010 at 7:43 am

    This all sounds so good. Posted a link to your halibut recipe on my Recipes to Try post. We don’t eat enough fish either. Did buy some salmon fillets to have this week.

    Reply
  • 2. Sherry  |  April 26, 2010 at 10:13 am

    Yummy looking menu! Dh is going fishing for catfish soon, so I’ll have to try your halibut recipe with it. :D

    Have a great Monday!
    Sherry

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

