Menu Plan Monday ~ January 4

January 3, 2010 at 9:18 pm 4 comments

As I’ve been exploring the blogosphere I came across a really fantastic concept organized by Laura from I’m An Organizing Junkie: Menu Plan Monday. I’m a huge proponent of menu planning, it’s really the only way that I can be sure my family will have nutritious meals that I can manage to get cooked during the week. Without a plan I tend to thrash about in the afternoon and try to find a way to fit a quick grocery trip into my schedule More often than not I end up just grabbing food on the way home or ordering out, both of which I’m trying to avoid.

Menus Based on What’s on Sale

I use a new tool still in the early stages of development to help me with my menu planning. It looks at the products that are on sale at my local grocery store (an HEB in north Austin, Tx) and then makes recipe recommendations based on my preferences. Because it’s right after the holidays there are all sorts of good things on sale this week: pork loin, strip steak, and shrimp to name a few. I’m feeling adventurous this week so we’re trying out four new recipes, but I could throw in a family favorite if I wanted to as well. My daughter has a dress rehearsal and an upcoming performance this weekend so we have a couple of dinners out planned and I’ll be doing creative things with leftovers on Sunday. Our plan for the week looks like this:

  • Monday: Pork Chop and Au Gratin Potato Bake with steamed green beans
    A comforting dinner for our first day back to work and school after the holidays; leftovers will reheat well for lunch.
  • Tuesday: Chipotle Shrimp Tacos with Uncle Ben’s Mexican rice and black beans
    My family loves these as an alternative to the same ol’ tacos.
  • Wednesday: Rosemary New York Strip Steak with roasted potatoes and carrots
    This simple recipe makes the most of the steak. Leftovers are great for lunch sandwiches.
  • Thursday: Pick up sandwiches after dress rehersal
    Rehersal is from 5:30 – 8:30, so making dinner just isn’t practical. Sandwiches are light and easy on the wallet.
  • Friday: BBQ Glazed Homemade Meatballs over egg noodles with a side of steamed broccoli
    I can enlist kid help in the kitchen to make these and we’ll use the leftovers on Sunday for BBQ meatball subs
  • Saturday: Special dinner out after performances
    We traditionally go to a sit-down restaurant to celebrate success or a job well done. This counts on all fronts.
  • Sunday: BBQ Meatball subs with coleslaw
    Meatballs from Friday take on new life as subs. My grocery store makes good coleslaw so dinner is easy as we get ready for the next week to start after a hectic weekend.
Entry filed under: Get Organized, Menu Plan Monday.

Crock Pot Recipes: Give Yourself a Break in the Kitchen Five Easy Strategies for Organizing Your Pantry

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Org Junkie  |  January 3, 2010 at 11:04 pm

    Your week sounds delicious!! Thanks so much for joining us and welcome!

    Laura 🙂

    Reply
    • 2. In the Bag Blog  |  January 5, 2010 at 9:22 am

      Thank you for the welcome. I’ve already enjoyed reading all of the different menus that people are posting and I have so many ideas for future menus. Thank you for helping us all connect.

      Reply
  • 3. colleen  |  January 5, 2010 at 8:22 pm

    Ohhh, your menu sounds yummy! I try to meal plan around the sale flyer too–ALWAYS looking for new ways to prepare those sale cuts!!

    Reply
  • 4. Getting Started with Coupon Organizing « In The Bag  |  January 12, 2010 at 8:32 am

    […] comes to saving money at the grocery store, I’ve traditionally focused most of my energy on menu planning based on what’s on sale each week. I also tend to shop at warehouse stores and buy in bulk to save on items we use frequently. […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

