Menu Plan Monday ~ January 11

January 10, 2010 at 8:00 pm 4 comments

Menu Plan Monday logoLast week’s Menu Plan Monday was so much fun! I got so many ideas reading other people’s menu plans and recipes, and I enjoyed putting my menu together to share with everyone. Last week was just a bit hectic because it was our first week back to work and school after the holidays, and my daughter had extra rehearsals for her musical theater performance. I did manage to stick with my menu but only by the skin of my teeth on a couple of nights. This week is much quieter so I’m going to take the opportunity to make a couple of recipes that freeze well so I’ll have mostly-ready meals on hand for the next time I’m facing a week like last week. I’m continuing to test the menu planning tool that’s in its early stages of development – it really does make things easier. Our plan for this week has shaped up like this:

  • Monday: Fish Baked in Foil with steamed broccoli and roasted red potatoes
    Cooking fish in foil is easy and makes clean up a breeze. My family loves to eat right out the foil package at the table and this preparation has made them more willing to try different types of fish.
  • Tuesday: Buffalo Tacos with a green salad and grilled pineapple
    These tacos are made with lean ground buffalo that I love to use whenever it’s on sale. This is a one-dish taco that only needs a quick salad and some fruit to round out dinner.
  • Wednesday: Lemon-Lime Soda Marinated Chicken Breasts with soba noodles and steamed edamame
    I will triple this recipe and put 1 ½ full recipes of un-cooked marinated chicken in the freezer. I will cook the remaining 1 ½ recipes of marinated chicken and use the leftovers for stir fry later in the week.
  • Thursday: White Chili with Ground Turkey with cornbread
    This chili doesn’t have to cook all day so it’s practical on a weeknight. I’ll triple this recipe as well and put 1 ½ of the cooked chili in the freezer. Leftovers from Thursday’s dinner will be the topping for Frio pies later in the week.
  • Friday: Make your own pizza night
    The whole family loves this night because we get into the kitchen together and cook. Everyone makes their own version of their favorite pizza but it costs much less than ordering pizza out. I buy the dough pre-made from a local pizza place, but my local grocery store also sells prepared pizza shells. Everyone in my family likes at least one vegetable on their pizza, so I don’t serve anything along side, but you could toss a quick salad together to go with the pizza.
  • Saturday: Quick stir fry with leftover chicken
    A cooked bag of frozen Asian-style vegetables, some teriyaki sauce, leftover chicken, and some brown rice come together in a quick and easy stir fry for a weekend night.
  • Sunday: Frito pies made with leftover chili
    Frito pies are a throwback from my childhood and they are a fun and easy family dinner. Simply reheat the left over chili in a sauce pan, open an individual bag of Fritos or other corn chips, put a cup or so of the chili in the bag on top of the chips, and sprinkle on some grated cheese. While you can dump the chips into a bowl first, it’s much more fun to eat this dish right out of the bag.
Entry filed under: Get Organized, Menu Plan Monday.

Easy Chicken Fingers Recipe: Pecan-Crusted Chicken Tenders Getting Started with Coupon Organizing

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Coupons and Cashmere  |  January 17, 2010 at 1:39 pm

    This week will be my first participating in Menu
    Plan Monday, so it’s good to know you were able to stick with it! Your dinners look great – very similar to what we would typically eat on any given week. Keep up the good work 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of January 25 « In The Bag  |  January 24, 2010 at 9:45 pm

    […] food, making me feel even less great about having to be away from them on business. Now that I make extra portions of freezer-friendly recipes, I have a stash of options for them that even my 10 year old can prepare. I still plan for them to […]

    Reply
  • 3. Menu Plan Monday ~ February 1 « In The Bag  |  January 31, 2010 at 8:59 pm

    […] Breasts (Freezer Stash) with white rice and sautéed broccoli I marinated extra chicken breasts a few weeks ago and froze them to use later. Later is officially this week, and the chicken will cook up quickly on […]

    Reply
  • 4. Frugal Friday: Freezer Power « In The Bag  |  February 5, 2010 at 8:24 am

    […] up on extras. I buy extra on sale items so I can make the deals last longer. I also make double or even triple recipes of freezable meals and freeze them for quick dinner a few weeks later. My family affectionately calls these meals my […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

