Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of January 25

January 24, 2010 at 9:00 pm 1 comment

Menu Plan Monday LogoSome weeks my grocery store circular is a bonanza of special treats and this week is one of those weeks. In addition to have the usual chicken and pork chops on sale, two of our favorite mains are at a great price: lamb chops and scallops. These are usually special occasion foods for us because they are on the higher end of the price spectrum, but this week they are such great deals well be having both. In some ways these specials come at the perfect time because I have to travel for work for the first couple of days of the week, so my family will be on their own for a couple of nights. It will be fun to treat them with the lamb and scallops once I’m back in town. In years past when I would travel for work, planning their meals was a big hassle because my husband isn’t particularly comfortable in the kitchen. Often they’d default to fast food, making me feel even less great about having to be away from them on business. Now that I make extra portions of freezer-friendly recipes, I have a stash of options for them that even my 10 year old can prepare. I still plan for them to have one night of take out but now it’s a treat (I guess that’s our theme this week) instead of a necessity.

This week the family will be a bit out of routine but because I’ve planned ahead and cooked ahead, I’m very comfortable with this week’s menu. My menu planning tool, Food on the Table, made putting it together really easy. It took about 30 minutes to figure out the plan and create my shopping list, and that included a few rounds of back-and-forth with my family about what extra things I needed to add to the grocery list.

  • Monday: White Chili with Ground Turkey (Freezer Stash) with corn bread
    I made a double batch of this chili a couple of weeks ago when ground turkey was on sale and put some away in the freezer specifically for times when I can’t cook. That extra effort is paying off. I’ll move a bag of frozen chili to the fridge before I leave for the airport and it will be ready for a quick reheat when my family is home in the evening.
  • Tuesday: Takeout Treat
    Because takeout isn’t our norm anymore, it’s truly a special treat for the family. If I was a betting woman I’d guess that they’ll end up at the sushi spot down the road for happy hour rolls and teriyaki.
  • Wednesday: Ginger Scallops and Sirloin Steak Surf & Turf with steamed broccoli and roasted red potatoes
    Sirloin is on sale this week along with the lamb and scallops, so I can treat my family to an extra-special dinner after my trip. I’ll make some extra steak to use for lunches on Thursday and easy sandwiches on Friday night.
  • Thursday: Lamb Chops with Balsamic Reduction with asparagus and long grain and wild rice
    Lamb chops cook quickly and are beautiful on the plate. My family will feel extra special having them right on the heels of the surf and turf dinner. I’ll make a few extra for lunches on Friday.
  • Friday: Steak Sandwiches with baked chips and fresh veggies
    Wednesday’s steak becomes a tasty sandwich when combined with baby arugula, sautéed onions, and some mozzarella cheese. Crunchy chips and veggies on the side help us keep this meal healthy.
  • Saturday: Beef-Stuffed Potatoes
    One dish meals are always fun on a weekend and I save this particular recipe for a day when I have time to wait for the potatoes to bake. The potatoes are fun to eat because they are like big version of potato skins and everyone can doctor their potato up with more cheese, sour cream, or chives.
  • Sunday: Pork Chop and Au Gratin Potato Bake
    We’ll end the week with this easy and comforting casserole. While I could serve pork chops with au gratin potatoes on the side, this is just different enough of a take on a family favorite that it adds some variety into our menu rotation.
Entry filed under: Food Costs and Budgeting, Menu Plan Monday.

Low Calorie & Kid Friendly Recipe: Tasty Turkey Burgers Tips for Organizing and Saving Money on Spices

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. madi01  |  January 24, 2010 at 11:09 pm

    How clever to link it to shopping specials

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

