Menu Plan Monday ~ February 1

January 31, 2010 at 8:00 pm 1 comment

Menu Plan Monday logo

I’m giving away a copy of The $5 Dinner Mom Cookbook as part of my first Frugal Friday post. Pop on over to that post to share a tip on how you save money at the grocery store and enter to win.

Wow, January has flown by! It seems like it was Christmas just yesterday, but here we are staring right at Valentine’s Day. Before we know it spring will be here. I have to say that being good about planning and following menus made this January a much better transition into a new year than my family has had before. We’ve also done a good job of keeping our grocery bills down and eating a healthier diet all around.

This week is a bit of an oddity for us because school is out for three days of teacher training. I’ve never been exactly sure why they take these three days off so close to the winter break, but I’m sure there’s a method to the madness. Thanks to the school-free days, the grandparents have kid duty, so for a couple of nights this week it will just be the hubby and I. Times like this are fun for us because we get a couple of date nights in a row, and I get a little more leeway in my menu selection because I’m only planning for the two of us. This week both steak and salmon are on sale, so they’ll be making an appearance on our date night menus. Later in the week we’ll enjoy chicken, pork chops, and some fried rice. This Sunday is the Super Bowl, and in celebration on that, we’ll be having an extra-easy jambalaya that leaves me free to enjoy the game and time with my family.

Have a great week and thanks again for taking the time to read about my meal plan:

  • Monday: Blue Cheese Strip Steaks With Seasoned Grilled Potatoes
    and steamed artichokes
    This dinner is the first of our two “date night” menus. While we could go out to a steak house, I can make a great steak dinner at home that will be infused with only the love that I can give it. I’ll use leftover steak for lunches on Tuesday.
  • Tuesday: Honey-Ginger Grilled Salmon with lemon risotto and roasted Brussels sprouts
    Salmon isn’t just good for us, we truly enjoy it. Usually salmon is a restaurant dish, but because it’s on sale, we’ll be having it at home this week. Because the salmon recipe is easy I’m taking a little extra time to make lemon risotto to round out this special menu.
  • Wednesday: On the way home from the airport
    It’s become a family tradition to stop somewhere on the way home and enjoy a meal together after someone has returned from a trip. This week will be no exception. It allows us to have some quality family time together and not feel rushed trying to get home to get dinner on the table.
  • Thursday: Lemon-Lime Soda Marinated Chicken Breasts (Freezer Stash) with white rice and sautéed broccoli
    I marinated extra chicken breasts a few weeks ago and froze them to use later. Later is officially this week, and the chicken will cook up quickly on the first evening after a return to school and our regular routines. I like to put quick, no-fail dinners on the table on days when we’re getting back into our groove so I’m not tempted to get take out because I’m tired.
  • Friday: Grilled Jamaican Pork Loin Chops with mashed potatoes and roasted carrots
    After a long week the whole family will enjoy sitting down to a hearty meal together. According to the weather man it’s probably going to be a bit chilly outside for grilling, so I’ll use my grill pan to start the chops and finish them in a 425 degree oven.
  • Saturday: Pork Fried Rice
    The rice and pork I made earlier this week will turn quickly into fried rice with the help of some frozen edamame, some sliced green onions, and a bit of soy sauce. This is one of my go-to dishes for a quick meal that tastes like takeout but is easy on the wallet and the calories.
  • Sunday: Quick and Hearty Jambalaya with brown rice
    A quick one-pot dish like jambalaya is great for Super Bowl Sunday. We’ll eat it around the TV as we cheer on our favorite teams. I’ll freeze the leftovers to have for another meal later in the month.
Entry filed under: Food Costs and Budgeting, Healthy Eating, Menu Plan Monday.

Frugal Friday: 4 Simple Ways to Save More at the Grocery Store (Plus a $5 Dinner Give Away) Easy Comfort Food: Chicken Fried Steak with Cream Gravy

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Mandi  |  February 1, 2010 at 7:09 am

    I love blue cheese on steaks, its one of my favorite treats! Have a great week.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

