Menu Monday ~ Week of March 8

March 7, 2010 at 8:43 pm 1 comment

Menu Plan Monday LogoYou know what they say about good intentions. Well, my best intentions for meal planning last week were totally derailed by recovering from a long business trip and a nasty stomach flu that swept through my household with a vengeance. It was all I could do to keep my head above water, much less sit down and make a plan for meals. After feeling guilty for about a day or so, I decided that I’d give myself a break. After all, I’d successfully planned menus for the first eight weeks of the year. One off week was probably okay. And while I don’t want to go back to the unplanned approach to feeding my family, we did survive the week and even avoided any truly bad for us food. I navigated the choppy waters of the week using a few tactics:

  • Raid the freezer. Over the last several weeks I’ve been diligent about making extra of portions of freezer-friendly recipes and putting them away for a rainy day. We pretty much emptied the freezer of my stash last week, but that’s why I had the stash in the first place. In the coming weeks I will replenish my stash and if I ever needed motivation to keep it stocked, I only have to remember how much it helped us out last week.
  • Shop the prepared food section at the grocery store. Healthy whole foods like mashed potatoes, green beans, and roast chicken abound in grocery stores these days, and while they aren’t cost-efficient to eat each and every week, they are a saving grace when meal planning goes awry.
  • Fall back on tacos and sandwiches. When you aren’t eating them each and every week, simple grilled cheese sandwiches and ground beef tacos are good, easy options that everyone likes. While I continue to try to bring more variety to our menus, family favorites are always a win all the way around.

Both my family and I survived a week without a menu plan, but I’m not particularly anxious to do it again anytime soon. This week, we have a fully baked meal plan. Spring Break starts on Friday and we’ll be kid-free for about a week while the grandparents take over. I’ll admit I’m a bit excited about having some more adult-style meals while we’re on our own, starting with this coming weekend.

  • Monday: Soft Mahi Mahi Tacos with Ginger Lime Dressing with Mexican rice and black beans
    I really like mahi mahi and it’s particularly fantastic for fish tacos. Any time it’s on sale at the grocery store I will find a way to incorporate it into our menus.
  • Tuesday: Spicy Rapid Roast Chicken with broccoli and roasted potatoes
    I’ll actually roast two chickens to use in lunches and for paninis later in the week. Any leftover chicken will go straight to the freezer to start restocking my stash.
  • Wednesday: Burgers on the grill with fixins and fries
    It’s grilling time in Texas, and I can’t think of a better way to kick off grilling season with burgers and fries.
  • Thursday: Chicken paninis with crudités and fresh fruit
    Thursday night is packing night so it will be a bit hectic. Quick sandwiches are easy but help ensure we’ll have one last family meal before Spring Break start.
  • Friday: On the way to the airport
  • Saturday: Cheese and Sausage Stuffed Zucchini with salad
    This is the first of our adult dinners and I’m really looking forward to making it. Stuffed zucchini are easy to make and are lovely on the plate, so they’ll be perfect before a movie.
  • Wednesday: Pork Chops Stuffed with Smoked Gouda and Bacon
    with brussles sprouts and scalloped potatoes
    Smoked gouda and bacon take pork chops to a whole new level, and the complex flavors make this a great grown-up Sunday supper.
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday.

Healthy and Freezer Friendly: Vegetarian Chili Menu Plan Monday ~ March 15

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  March 8, 2010 at 9:35 am

    We all have rough days and rough weeks, and I’ve been grateful to have some ready-to-go meals in the freezer!

    Your menu for this week sounds delicious. Enjoy your kid-free time!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

