Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of March 29

March 29, 2010 at 6:56 am 5 comments

Menu Plan Monday LogoLast week’s freezer restocking effort was a success! I’m starting to feel like I’m better prepared for weeks when schedules are hectic or I’m out of town. It’s also nice to be able to plan a “Mom’s night off” evening from cooking so I can spend more time with my family after work. To keep feeding the freezer karma, I’m going to devote most of this week to filling the freezer. Grilling season is approaching, so I’ll be making recipes that are grill-friendly and perfect for eating on the porch. I continue to use the Food on the Table site to help make menu planning and grocery shopping easy. It’s particularly helpful when I’m buying extra of most ingredients to fill the freezer because I base all of my main menu items on what’s on sale. Between the grocery store savings and the fact that we don’t eat out as much, particularly when the freezer is full, we’re really seeing an impact on our bottom line budget.

Now, without further adieu, here’s this week’s menu.

  • Monday: Sweet-and-Sour Skewered Shrimp with soba noodles
    I made these for the first time a few weeks ago and cooked them on a grill pan inside because it was a little too chilly to be grilling. Now that the weather is better I’ll toss them on the grill and we’ll enjoy dinner on the patio. I’ll make extra skewers and have the vegetables for lunch later in the week and the extra shrimp in the fried rice on Wednesday.
  • Tuesday: Lemon-Lime Soda Marinated Chicken Breasts
    with white rice and sautéed broccoli
    This dish continues to be a hit in our house and the chicken breasts freeze beautifully in the marinade. I’ll triple this recipe and freeze two batches. I’ll also make extra rice for Wednesday’s fried rice.
  • Wednesday: Shrimp Fried Rice
    The leftovers from dinner on Monday and Tuesday, along with a bag of frozen edamame will come together quickly for a fried rice this week. I keep thinking my family will get tired of my go-to fried rice, but because I mix it up each week (no pun intended) they seem to enjoy it as a regular menu item. It’s just like the Chinese take-out we used to have every week only less expensive and better for us.
  • Thursday: Coffee-Marinated Steak with Alfredo pasta and artichokes
    This is another great recipe for the grill. I’ll make a quadruple batch, cook two batches and freeze the other two. The leftover cooked steak will be perfect for steak sandwiches this weekend.
  • Friday: White Chili with Ground Turkey with cornbread
    This chili doesn’t have to cook all day so it’s practical on a weeknight. I’ll quadruple this recipe as well and put two batches in the freezer. Leftovers will be the topping for Frio pies on Sunday night.
  • Saturday: Steak Sandwiches with bean dip, corn chips, and fresh veggies
    Saturday night is movie night and there’s nothing more fun that settling in with trays of sandwiches and munchies. Bean dip is surprisingly healthy and adds a little more protein to our world. Fresh veggies are always a hit as finger foods with ranch dressing and we’ll much on them throughout the movie.
  • Easter Sunday: Frito Pies
    This is another menu staple that my family truly enjoys. I’ll be able to use the extra corn chips from Saturday night so they don’t go to waste but we’re not snacking on this special treat all week either. We’re enjoying Easter with friends so our mid-day meal will be filling. Frito pies are a great way to have a light and easy dinner after a long day.
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday.

Quick and Easy Chicken and Sausage Jambalaya Classic Easter Dinner: Lamb Shank with Orange and Mint

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Melissa  |  March 29, 2010 at 1:36 pm

    Your plan sounds delicious!

    I’ve been using up the prepared foods in the freezer, so it’s almost time to restock. It’s so good to have easy dinners on hand for hectic weeks!

    Reply
    • 2. Natanya Anderson  |  March 31, 2010 at 11:44 am

      I can’t tell you how much of a difference having a stocked freezer has made in my world because the hectic weeks just seem to keep happening. I’m glad you liked my plan!

      Reply
  • 3. Rona  |  March 30, 2010 at 6:48 pm

    You have many delicious meals planned.

    You have some yummy meals planned.

    Just doing some blogging visiting today.

    Gotta get back to Law & Order on TNT.

    Reply
  • […] the last couple of weeks I’ve been obsessed with building menus that will help me stock my freezer with quick meals when I don’t have time to cook. And while I’ve been largely focused on […]

    Reply
  • 5. Cori  |  April 4, 2010 at 8:48 am

    The Lemon Lime Soda Chicken looks so easy and delicious. Do you keep the uncooked chicken in the freezer with the marinade? How long can you keep it in the freezer? Thanks in advance for your help.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

