Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of April 5

April 3, 2010 at 4:09 pm Leave a comment

Menu Plan Monday LogoAustin’s annual Capitol 10k race is one of the largest 10ks in the country and I’m running in it this year for the first time in five year. I had a great 7 mile run this morning and think I’m in a good place to have a great race. I enjoy 5k and 10k races as fun adventures, but I’m certainly not a competitor for any awards. Even so, I like to set myself up for the best possible run the week before the race. A big part of that preparation is eating right including getting plenty of carbs starting mid-week. This week’s meal plan is crafted around the race on Sunday. There will be plenty of lean proteins to go with my carbs, and we’ll end the week with steak sandwiches, a family favorite.

  • Monday: Dijon-Crusted Halibut with artichokes and long grain and wild rice
    The breadcrumb crust on this halibut makes it an easy fish dish for everyone to enjoy.
  • Tuesday: Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Balsamic Vinegar with steamed broccoli and fettuccini Alfredo
    I’ll be visiting my freezer stash this week on the evening of my last long run before the race on Sunday. I’ll have able to have a healthy dinner even with an extra hour given over to training.
  • Wednesday: Spicy Broiled Steak with Garlic with Brussels sprouts and baked potatoes
    Carb loading begins in earnest mid-week and there’s no better way to do that than with baked potatoes. The whole family will enjoy a steak dinner along the way. Leftover steak will become sandwiches on Sunday evening.
  • Thursday: Spicy Asian Grilled Shrimp with edamame and steamed rice
    As I get closer to race day I like to eat lean and easy to digest proteins, along with the necessary carbs. Shrimp are easy and the rice will be great with lunch on Friday.
  • Friday: Orange-Scented Grilled Lobster Tails with grilled vegetables and soba noodles
    I was excited to see lobster tails on sale for race week. They will be a fun treat for the whole family and help me continue with my lean proteins.
  • Saturday: Pre-race dinner at a local pasta house
    The whole family will enjoy my final pre-race carb loading fest at a favorite local restaurant.
  • Sunday: Steak Sandwiches with salad
    I’ll be tired the evening of the race but will still want to have a healthy meal. Steak sandwiches will be easy and fun.
Entry filed under: Menu Plan Monday.

Frugal Friday: Bakery-Style Breakfast from the Freezer Menu Plan Monday ~ Week of April 12

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Twitter Chatter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Let’s Connect

Follow me on Twitter

RSS Blog Posts I’m Reading

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
counter for wordpress

